ringtv

Kamegai, Linares top Fox Sports Net broadcast on Saturday

Undefeated Japanese welterweight standout Yoshihiro Kamegai will make his second U.S. appearance on Saturday when he takes on Tijuana’s Jorge Silva in the main event of a Fox Sports Net/Fox Deportes-televised card at the Sacramento Memorial Auditorium in Sacramento, Calif.

Two-division titleholder Jorge Linares returns to action against 19-year veteran Hector Velasquez in the 10-round lightweight co-main event.

Kamegai (21-0, 18 knockouts) is a 29-year-old boxer-puncher from Sapporo. The former Japanese national 140-pound champ made his welterweight and U.S. debut last October with a sixth-round stoppage of Hector Munoz in Las Vegas.

In Silva (19-2-1, 15 KOs), who is making his U.S. debut, Kamegai faces an aggressive 20-year-old up-and-comer who has won five of his last six fights, including two in a row.

Linares (31-3, 20 KOs) is looking to bounce back from two exciting and hard-fought upset losses to WBC lightweight titleholder Antonio DeMarco (TKO 11) and Sergio Thompson (TKO 2, due to a cut). The Tokyo-based Venezuelan’s opponent, 37-year-old Tijuana native Velasquez (52-17-2, 35 KOs), has faced many world-class opponents, including Manny Pacquiao, Rocky Juarez and the late Edwin Valero.

Kamegai-Silva is a scheduled 10-round welterweight bout that headlines a stacked undercard presented by Golden Boy Promotions in association with Don Chargin Productions and sponsored by Corona.

Doors open at 4:00 p.m. PT and the first fight begins at 4:00 p.m. PT. The Fox Sports Net broadcast will air at 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT. FUEL TV will rebroadcast the fight on November 25 at 5:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. PT.

Tickets priced at $20, $35, $45 and $60 are available for purchase at the Sacramento Convention Center Box Office, online at www.tickets.comor by calling Paco’s Restaurant in Woodland (530) 669-7946.

Around the web