Lem Satterfield

Lem’s latest: Classics marathon on Fox

alt

 

Golden Boy Promotions and FOX Deportes will re-air classic fights over the course of four days and nights on Dec. 22, Dec. 25, Dec. 29 and Jan. 5.

The marathon schedule, listed below, includes bouts involving fighters such as Oscar De La Hoya, Floyd Mayweather Jr., Manny Pacquiao, Julio Cesar Chavez, Pernell Whitaker, Erik Morales, Marco Antonio Barrera, Miguel Cotto, Sugar Shane Mosley, Canelo Alvarez, Abner Mares, Ricky Hatton, Felix Trinidad and Danny Garcia.


Below is the schedule.


Saturday, December 22:

Oscar De La Hoya vs. Pernell Whitaker – 3:00 p.m. ET/12:00 p.m. PT

Manny Pacquiao vs. Marco Antonio Barrera I – 4:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. PT

Oscar De La Hoya vs. Shane Mosley I – 5:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. PT

Erik Morales vs. Pablo Cesar Cano – 6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT

Israel Vazquez vs. Rafael Marquez III – 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT

Miguel Cotto vs. Shane Mosley – 8:00 p.m.ET/5:00 p.m. PT

Floyd Mayweather vs. Victor Ortiz – 9:00 p.m.ET/6:00 p.m. PT

Oscar De La Hoya vs. Felix Trinidad – 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT

 

Tuesday, December 25:

Oscar De La Hoya vs. Ike Quartey – 1:00 p.m. ET/10:00 a.m. PT

Shane Mosley vs. Ricardo Mayorga – 2:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. PT

Julio Cesar Chavez vs. Oscar De La Hoya – 3:00 p.m. ET/12:00 p.m. PT

Floyd Mayweather vs. Ricky Hatton – 4:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. PT

Oscar De La Hoya vs. Fernando Vargas – 5:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. PT

Israel Vazquez vs. Rafael Marquez II – 6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT

Oscar De La Hoya vs. Felix Trinidad – 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT

 

alt

Amir Khan vs. Marcos Maidana – 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT

Canelo Alvarez vs. Ryan Rhodes – 9:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. PT

Canelo Alvarez vs. Mathew Hatton – 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT

 

Saturday, December 29:

Abner Mares vs. Vic Darchinyan – 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT

Danny Garcia vs. Nate Campbell – 11:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. PT

 

Saturday, January 5:

Rigoberto Alvarez vs. Austin Trout – 6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT

Lamont Peterson vs. Victor Ortiz – 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT

Amir Khan vs. Paulie Malignaggi – 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT

Floyd Mayweather vs. Shane Mosley -9:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. PT

Oscar De La Hoya vs. Felix Trinidad – 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT

 

TOR HAMER FACES VYACHESLAV GLAZKOV

 

alt

 

New York heavyweight Tor Hamer will pursue his ninth straight victory and his fifth stoppage during that run when he faces undefeated Vyacheslav “Czar” Glazkov on Saturday’s undercard of a main event featuring a rematch between Tomasz Adamek and Steve Cunningham.

The 29-year-old son of Ivy League-educated parents, Hamer (19-1, 12 KO’s) has a degree from Penn State, and hopes to deliver an educated beat-down on Glazkov (13-0, 9 KOs), of Langansk, Ukraine, a 28-year-old who has scored three knockouts in his past four fights.

The show will take place at the Sands Casino Resort in Bethlehem, Pa., and will be broadcast on NBC beginning at 4 p.m.

Adamek (47-2, 29 KOs) weighed 223 to 203.5 for Cunniingham (25-4, 12 KOs) at Friday’s weigh-in. Adamek is a  former light heavyweight and cruiserweight titleholder, and Cunningham, an ex-RING 200-pound champion.

In their first meeting, Cunningham lost by split-decision after being floored three times by Adamek, who earned the IBF’s cruiserweight belt on Dec. 11, 2008.

 

ANDY LEE TO RETURN TO THE RING ON FEB. 9

London native and middleweight contender Andy Lee (28-2, 20 KOs), who lived and trained with the late Emanuel “Manny” Steward in Detroit, will return to the ring against Ireland’s Anthony Fitzgerald (13-3, 4 KOs) at Odyssey Arena, Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Lee experienced Steward’s death in October at the age of 68, after having lost by seventh-round stoppage to then-WBC titleholder Julio Cesar Chavez Jr. on June 16 — five days after his 28th birthday.

 

YOAN PABLO HERNANDEZ DEFENDS AGAINST ERIC FIELDS

Southpaw IBF cruiserweight beltholder Yoan Pablo Hernandez (27-1, 13 KOs), of Cuba, will pursue his 14th straight victory and his sixth knockout durign that run on Feb. 2 against Oklahoma’s Eric Fields (21-1, 15 KOs), a winner of 10 straight fights, six of which have come via the stoppage route. 

On the same card, at Max Schmeling Halle, Prenzlauer Berg, Berlin, Germany, light heavyweights Eduard Gutknecht (24-1, 9 KOs) and ex-titleholder Juergen Braehmer (38-2, 30 KOs) will meet in a clash of Germans.

 

Photos by Getty Images

Photo by Rich Graessle

Lem Satterfield can be reached at lemuel.satterfield@gmail.com

Around the web