ringtv

Mares-Darchinyan, Hopkins-De La Hoya to replay on Fox Deportes

 

Fox Deportes Classics will replay the dramatic 12-round bantamweight battle between Abner Mares and Vic Darchinyan at 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT, and the world middleweight championship showdown between Bernard Hopkins and Oscar De La Hoya at 11:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. PT on Saturday, March 23.

Mares, an undefeated 2004 Mexican Olympian, scored the biggest victory of his career on Dec. 11, 2010 when he rose from the canvas to knock down former two-division titleholder Darchinyan and go on to win a hard-fought split-decision victory that kicked off his run to two divisional world titles.

Hopkins-De La Hoya was one of boxing’s biggest fights in years when the two future hall of famers met for the undisputed middleweight world championship on Sept. 18, 2004, and after an evenly-matched battle, “The Executioner” scored a ninth-round body shot knockout over “The Golden Boy.”

 

 

Photo / Jed Jocobsohn-Getty Images

Around the web