Lem Satterfield

Canelo Alvarez-Alfredo Angulo coming to a theater near you

 Canelo Alvarez Angulo PrePC fighters_gene blevins gbphoganphotos

Golden Boy CEO Richard Schaefer has announced that the four-bout Showtime Pay Per View card to be headlined by the clash between former RING 154-pound champion Canelo Alvarez and junior middleweight contender Alfredo Angulo will be broadcast live to select theaters nationwide on March 8.

"March 8 will be a huge night for boxing," said Schaefer in a press release. "As we team up with Fathom Events once again, fight fans in movie theaters around the United States will be able to experience the entire Canelo vs. Angulo event like they never have before."

Tickets for "Toe-To-Toe: Canelo vs. Angulo" are available at participating theater box offices and online at www.FathomEvents.com. For a complete list of theater locations and prices, visit the Fathom Events website as theaters and participants are subject to change.

The event will be broadcast to nearly 400 select movie theaters across the country through Fathom's Digital Broadcast Network.

The Alvarez-Angulo event will also match WBC 122-pound beltholder Leo Santa Cruz  (26-0-1, 15 knockouts) against Cristian Mijares (49-7-2, 24 KOs) and lightweight contender Omar Figueroa (22-0-1, 17 KOs) opposite Ricardo “Dinamita” Alvarez, (23-2-3, 14 KOs), Canelo Alvarez's older brother.

Also on the card will be the first defense by IBF 154-pound titleholder Carlos Molina (22-5-2, 6 KOs) against Jermall Charlo (17-0, 13 KOs), the 23-year-old twin brother of unbeaten junior middleweight contender Jermell Charlo.

In the bout prior to the televised pay per view broadcast to be shown on Showtime Extreme will be a lightweight fight between ex-beltholder Jorge Linares (35-3, 23 KOs) and Japan's Nihito Arakawa (24-3-1, 16 KOs), the latter of whom rose from the canvas during a brutal unanimous decision loss to Figueroa in July.

Canelo Alvarez (42-1-1, 30 KOs) is coming off the majority decision loss on Showtime Pay Per View to Floyd Mayweather Jr. which grossed a record $150 million. He is also scheduled to fight on July 26 and Nov. 22 of 2014 .

Angulo (22-3, 18 KOs) scored two knockdowns during June's exciting 10th-round stoppage loss to Erislandy Lara.

The Alvarez-Angulo telecast will begin at 9 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. PT, 8 p.m. CT, 7 p.m. Mountain time, 6 p.m., 5 p.m. in Alaska and 4 p.m. in Hawaii.

 

Photo: Gene Blevins/Golden Boy Promotions-Hoganphotos

 

Around the web