Francisco Salazar

Alvarez-Angulo rebroadcast kicks off Showtime’s Saturday doubleheader

The Canelo Alvarez-Alfredo Angulo bout that took place this past Saturday in Las Vegas will open the Showtime Championship Boxing telecast on Saturday, Stephen Espinoza told RingTV.com on Sunday afternoon.

Showtime will begin its telecast on Saturday at 9:00 p.m. ET/ 6:00 p.m. PT.

Espinoza is the Executive Vice President and General Manager of Showtime Sports.

After the Alvarez-Angulo bout, two fights will air live from the Coliseo Ruben Rodriguez in Bayamon, Puerto Rico. In the main event, Danny Garcia (27-0, 16 knockouts) will defend his RING, WBC and WBA junior welterweight world titles against Mauricio Herrera (20-3, 7 KOs).

Preceding the main event will be the scheduled 12-round heavyweight bout between Malik Scott (36-1-1, 13 KOs) and hard-hitting contender Deontay Wilder (30-0, 30 KOs).

Espinoza also notified RingTV.com that Showtime will air the final installment of All-Access: Canelo-Angulo. It will be the Epilogue episode.

Showtime Extreme will broadcast two preliminary bouts live, beginning at 7:00 p.m. ET/ 4:00 p.m. PT. In a rematch of hard-hitting former titleholders, Daniel Ponce De Leon (45-5, 35 KOs) will fight Juan Manuel Lopez (33-3, 30 KOs) in a 10-round junior lightweight bout. Lopez stopped Ponce De Leon in the first round when they first met in June of 2008.

Opening the Showtime Extreme telecast will be middleweight prospect Danny Jacobs (26-1, 23 KOs) taking on Milton Nunez (26-9-1, 24 KOs) in a scheduled 10-round bout.

 

 

Francisco A. Salazar has written for RingTV since October of 2013 and has covered boxing in Southern California and abroad since 2000. He also covers boxing for the Ventura County (CA) Star newspaper, Boxingscene.com, and Knockout Nation. He can be reached by email at santio89@yahoo.com or on Twitter at FSalazarBoxing  

Around the web