Lem Satterfield

Lem’s latest: Floyd Mayweather Jr. is Nevada’s ‘Fighter of the Year’

Floyd Mayweather vs Maidana bodyshot fukuda

 

Floyd Mayweather Jr. will be named “Fighter of the Year” by the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame at Saturday’s annual induction event, an honor that will be bestowed upon him for the second straight occasion.

The event is to be held at the Cohiba Ballroom in the New Tropicana, Las Vegas.

Mayweather (46-0, 26 knockouts) is coming off majority decision victories over Saul Alvarez in September 2013 and Marcos Maidana in May, the latter of whom he will face, yet again, on Sept. 13 at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

Mayweather will also help induct former titleholder Cornelius Boza-Edwards, a trainer and operator of the Las Vegas-based Mayweather Gym, into the “Nevada Resident Boxer” category.

Sugar Ray Leonard will also attend the event, whose founder and president is Rich Marotta.

A 2013 inductee into the NVBHOF’s inaugural event, Leonard will not only attend the induction of former champion Roberto Duran but join him on stage. The evening will also include a reunion of former rivals Evander Holyfield and Mike Tyson.

Duran, who being inducted in the “Non-Nevada Residents” category for the 2014 Class, won the first of three bouts against Leonard. Their final bout of the trilogy marked the opening event for Steve Wynn’s Mirage Hotel and was refereed by Richard Steele, each of whom are also being inducted into the NVBHOF.

In addition, Tyson will make the presentation to Holyfield, to whom he lost twice.

Other awards are listed as follows:

 

PRESIDENT’S AWARD:

*Joe Bliss: The 81-year Reno resident was the first-ever University of Nevada National Boxing Champ, winning the college title for the Wolf Pack in 1959. A college teammate of Mills Lane, he has remained an inspiration and role model for young boxers in Northern Nevada.

 

SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

* WBC heavyweight titleholder Bermane Stiverne:  For becoming the first-ever Haitian to win a heavyweight title. Stiverne, 35, is a Las Vegas resident.

* IBF welterweight beltholder Shawn Porter: For his victories over Phil Lo Greco, Julio Diaz and Devon Alexander, as well as his fourth-round knockout of Paulie Malignaggi. Porter lives and trains in Las Vegas.

* Ana Julaton: For being the only athlete, male or female, to be competing at elite levels in both boxing and MMA. Julaton made her MMA debut with a victory on big ONE-FC card in Phillipines in December.

* Vinh Thai: For winning national Collegiate Boxing Championship in the 112-pound class for UNLV

* Garrett Felling: For winning National Collegiate Boxing Championship at 185 pounds for the University of Nevada, in Reno.

* Mary Ann Owen: For her dedication as one of the top boxing photojournalists in America. A Las Vegas resident, she has also contributed in roles as an author and women’s boxing promoter.

* Dr. Charles Bernick: For his work as principal investigator in the Brain Health Study on fighters at Cleveland Clinic Lou Ruvo Center in Las Vegas, one that has enlisted hundreds of boxers for annual medical and cognitive tests toward research on brain trauma.

 

MAYHEM: MAYWEATHER-MAIDANA II COMING TO A MOVIE THEATER NEAR YOU?

Fathom Events and Mayweather Promotions are taking Mayweather-Maidana II to the big screen, where it will be broadcast in movie theaters nationwide from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT and 5 p.m. PT.

Also to air at  4 p.m. in Alaska, and, at 2 p.m. in Hawaii, movie tickets for Mayweather-Maidana II are available at participating theater box offices and online at www.FathomEvents.com.

For a complete list of theater locations and prices, visit the Fathom Events website. The event will be broadcast to nearly 570 select movie theaters across the country through Fathom’s Digital Broadcast Network.

 

PETER QUILLIN-MATT KOROBOV PURSE BID ORDERED

A purse bid has been ordered for August 18 at 10 a.m. in Puerto Rico for a bout between WBO middleweight titleholder Peter Quillin (31-0, 22 KOs) and  Matt Korobov (24-0, 14 KOs), whose respective promoters are Golden Boy Promotions and Top Rank Promotions, WBO President Francisco “Paco” Valcarcel informed RingTV.com on Tuesday.

Earlier this month, the sides were granted 30 days to negotiate a deal before the purse bid is mandated. The minimum bid is at least $200,000.

In his last fight in April, Quillin won a one-sided unanimous decision over Lukas Konecny, and Korobov is coming off a unanimous decision over previously unbeaten Jose Uzcategui in May.

Valcarcel also said a purse bid has been ordered for Friday, August 8 at 11 a.m. for a bout between bantamweight beltholder Tomoki Kameda of Japan and Alejandro Hernandez.

 

Photo by Naoki Fukuda

Around the web