RingTV.com

Weigh-in photos: Chavez Jr. misses weight

Julio Cesar Chavez Jr. came in overweight at 170.8 pounds for his July 18 fight against Marcos Reyes in El Paso, Texas. Originally a super middleweight fight, the two combatants reportedly had made a prior agreement that the non-title fight would have a higher limit, thus Reyes, who weighed 168.4 pounds, was good to go. Chavez, however, was still above the contracted weight and has reportedly paid Reyes’ team for coming in so heavy.

A similar situation occurred before Chavez’s first fight against Bryan Vera in September 2013, when the agreed-upon weight migrated upward in the preceding days and finally settled at 173.

Other weights:

Carl Frampton (121.6) vs. Alejandro Gonzalez (121.4)

Chris Arreola (246.8) vs. Frederic Kassi (225)

McJoe Arroyo (114.8) vs. Arthur Villanueva (114.8)

Amir Imam (140) vs. Fernando Angulo (140)

Frampton-Gonzalez and Arreola-Kassi will be shown by Premier Boxing Champions on CBS starting at 4 p.m. ET/1p.m. PT.

Chavez-Reyes, Arroyo-Villanueva and Imam-Angulo will be broadcast on Showtime Championship Boxing starting at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT

 

Around the web